MPH Student Committed to Public Health

Published: November 25th, 2012

Category: Department Life, Student News

Each Fall Semester, the Department of Behavioral Science and Community Health awards two American Public Health Association (APHA) student memberships to second year Social and Behavioral Science (SBS) students. The APHA is the oldest and most diverse organization of public health professionals in the world and has been working to improve public health since 1872. The BSCH Professional Scholarship was developed to encourage students to remain active and informed on various Public Health trends, research, legislation, advocacy, and policy issues following graduation.

This year, the award went to Jennifer LeLaurin.  Ms. LeLaurin is a Teaching Assistant for the College of Public Health and Health Professions and also serves as the Vice-President for Health Education for Research Outreach Empowerment and Service (HEROES), a UF student organization promoting health-related volunteerism. In addition to her academic commitments, Ms. LeLaurin is also works for Tobacco Free Alachua.

Ms. LeLaurin was also recently awarded the Sam and Connie Holloway Endowed Scholarship in Spring 2012 for demonstrating exemplary leadership and academic excellence.